Subscription questions

Hey guys

I'm just getting started with subscriptions (finally!) and have a few questions I'm finding from the api.

My subscriptions are monthly recurring, no end date. We have two 'levels' of membership: basic & gold.

- How can I tell when a customer's card is about to expire from the api?
- How can I see the subscription description via the api - so that I can tell which subscription level is active (I've tried setting this in the description and as an option and can't find it in the data)?
- How do I prevent someone who already has an account from placing an order for a second subscription using the same email address?

Thanks
Tagged:
Comments
  • fc_adamfc_adam FoxyCart Team
    - How can I tell when a customer's card is about to expire from the api?
    You would use the subscription datafeed for that: http://wiki.foxycart.com/static/redirect/subscription_datafeed. Unlike the transaction datafeed, the sub datafeed is sent every day as needed, and contains information about subscriptions with past due amounts, subscriptions that are about to end and payment methods that are about to expire.
    - How can I see the subscription description via the api - so that I can tell which subscription level is active (I've tried setting this in the description and as an option and can't find it in the data)?
    If you fetch the subscription with the API, you can check the "transaction template" which will contain an XML representation of the subscription cart. If you edit a subscription in your store's administration, and click the "advanced edit" button, you'll see what that content looks like.
    - How do I prevent someone who already has an account from placing an order for a second subscription using the same email address?