Custom Initiation Fee in Checkout

Hello!

I am working on a boating services website in Squarespace and have selected Foxy Cart as our check out system as they are using Authorize for their payments. I am a web designer so a lot of the threads and topics here are hard to follow but I think I am getting most of it so far. What I need to do is have the user put in their boat length into a field on the checkout screen and have that value multiplied by $15 and added to the end amount. Is there an easy way to do this? I have created the category for this but am not sure what to do from there. Any advice will help. Thank you!
Comments
  • brettbrett FoxyCart Team
    Hi @joshuabird88. We're happy to help. There are a few ways to do this, but the first question is: Does this need to happen on the checkout? It'd be much easier to handle this before the checkout, on your site. There'd be a few ways to do that.

One possibility, if this is the only product, would be to simply make the product $15 "each", then make the quantity the "feet". (You could change "quantity" in the store's language strings to be "feet".)

Alternately, the best way to handle this would be for you to create the form how you want it, and we can help you connect the dots to get it working how you'd like it. Is that doable? If you need help with the HTML for the form, let us know and we can help you out there as well.
  • Hello Brett!

Thank you for reaching out. As the initiation fee is a required item, I think that means it needs to be in check out so I can make it required. As stated, I am working with Squarespace and right now I have each level of membership (bronze, silver, gold, and concierge services) with two buttons. Each button adds to the cart. Each button is specific to a month to month cost or an annual cost (basically they agree to terms and conditions for agreeing to pay a monthly fee for an annual subscription).

The site is located here: premieraquaticms.com