(Non-guest) customer e-mail uniqueness [API]

Hi,

I'm very new to FoxyCart, and I can't immediately see how the customer accounts work. According to the wiki, "The email address can be considered the unique key for the customer; there cannot be two different (non-guest) customer records with the same email address." But does that mean "unique across my store" or "unique across all my stores" or "unique across the whole of Foxy"? If the latter, given that I'm using SSO (forward only), how to I manage to create a new Foxy customer account for someone who happens to already have a Foxy account created previously through some other merchant's store, once he's registered an local account on my website? Presumably the creation would fail, but then what would I do next? My objective is to be able to log that user on to his Foxy account automatically so that when he jumps from my website to the Cart he's not prompted to log in manually.
Comments
  • fc_adamfc_adam FoxyCart Team
    @AntonSy,

Good question - sorry for the confusion there. That would be unique to a single store, rather than across multiple stores or the whole app.

We'll get the wiki updated to make that a little clearer.

Is there anything else we can clarify with the SSO set up and customers?
  • @fc_adam, thanks - that's a relief! (I was hoping that it would be like that.)

So, what we want to achieve with SSO to Foxy is that the user is never aware that they even have a Foxy account (beyond the GDPR requirement that we inform them in our Privacy Notice). Since our store is b2b we don't care about hurdles to purchase; we insist that our users are signed in to our local webapp and then we send them to Foxy to make their subscription purchase, and we also provide them with a link in our local webapp at all times so that they can go to Foxy to manage their billing.