New Customer Subscription Questions

tjkombotjkombo Member
in General edited June 2009
I have a few questions here. Some of them I THINK I found the answer too on the forum, but since I'm new to foxycart I was confused by some of the lingo.

1. Can I do a 30 day or 60 day trial before a user gets charged their monthly fees?

2. When I upgrade packages (ie 29 to $39) will the people that subscribed at 29 still continue to pay that price as long as their subscription continues?

3. When switching between packages for users, how does that affect billing? If their cycle for this month just started and they upgrade, does it apply their original package amount towards the new package?

4. What happens when a user cancels their subscription? Does it allow them access for the remainder of the period they paid for?

5. When a user signs up, cancels, or changes packages how is this sent to our system so our system knows what level of access or access at all to provide? When a new user signs up is it instant?

I know these may be common questions and I had some other questions I found answers too, but I'm trying to make a quick decision on who to use.

Thanks,

Matt
Comments
  • brettbrett FoxyCart Team
    Hi Matt.
    Welcome to FoxyCart! We'll try to help with your questions.

1. Yes, check out the sub_startdate parameter:
    http://wiki.foxycart.com/getting_started:adding_links_and_forms

2. Yes. You'd have to modify them manually to update the price for a subscription.

3. "Packages" is perhaps the thing that needs to be clarified. FoxyCart doesn't have any concept of "products" or "packages" on your end. If you send a transaction through with a $29 monthly subscription, that's what it is. You can change it later, or allow your customers to update it themselves, but FoxyCart doesn't have predefined "packages" or "products" that you configure on the FoxyCart side of things.