The Foxy forums are on the move!

We're in the process of moving our forums over to a new system, and so these forums are now read-only.
If you have a question about your store in the meantime, please don't hesitate to reach out to us via email.

Formatting Help

leftwaveleftwave Member
in Help edited October 2009
Hello,

I'm a bit new to FoxyCart and am not a CSS expert so please forgive me for this post :)

I'm having a heck of a time formatting the checkout page on this site:
http://3sistersny.com/html/productsSquiggleScarf.html

1. I just can not get things to align properly on "step 4" of the checkout. I've spent hours overwriting my own CSS, but it just never looks aligned and even. Is there some sort of trick to the CSS here?

2. To top this off, even though the rest of the page looks great in Firefox, when I load the checkout page in Internet Explorer, the vertical gray lines (on step 1,2,3 and 4) only seem to show up on the bottom half of each section.

Can anyone out there help me with these issues??

Thanks a bunch,
stacie
Comments
  • brettbrett FoxyCart Team
    About #2: You're in IE8 when you see that, I assume? IE8 is just plain weird when it comes to those vertical lines. If it bothers you I'd suggest just removing them from all browsers rather than trying to get IE8 to play nicely.

#1: Are you able to change things at all? Or are you having trouble applying styles to the elements in the first place?
  • Hi Brett,

Yup, it's IE8. I think I'll just leave it for now.

As for "step 4".... it's really strange. It's as if some styles "take" and others do not. I've tried so many combinations of so many different styles and can NOT get this area to align and look right. Any tips?? Anyone??

Thanks,
    stacie
    Have you tried !importants and adding more specificity like prefixing all your rules with the div#container_id_name? The more specific you get, the better.

Also, make sure the rules you're using are coming _after_ any other rules.