The Foxy forums are on the move!

We're in the process of moving our forums over to a new system, and so these forums are now read-only.
If you have a question about your store in the meantime, please don't hesitate to reach out to us via email.

Custom Order Form

knightknightknightknight Member
in Help edited March 2008
I'm a complete newbie to the world of ecarts, and because my product is not product more an service I can't visualise how this works yet.

I have a product that will essentially be a lengthy order form that will capture the job details and billing etc. The form would be broken up into steps that your able to review/edit before final submit.

From the FoxyAdmin I can set up my various service into categories but between adding the product to the cart and payment of the product, how do I do the middle bit!?!

My first thought is to use eForm as it will have the validation (must requirement), staggering the form into stages and or editing before submitting.

Except I have no idea where to start with regard to the foxy one!?

Please help. Thanks.
Comments
  • lukeluke FoxyCart Team
    Hey knight.

What you're describing sounds similar to something like a conference registration. You need to gather a bunch of information up front, and then pass it along to the checkout process. There are two main ways to do this:

1) You can use custom fields in your checkout template (see the wiki) to gather all of the information you need as part of the checkout process.

2) You can use multiple product options first, get everything ready to go and then send it all to the cart as one product (potentially using the cart=checkout method to go directly to the checkout screen).