Free Material

bridge3196bridge3196 Member
in General edited May 2008
This might be a silly question and you'll need to excuse me as I am extremely new to the shopping cart & PayPal arena. Anyway, a non-profit I do work for produces a lot of publications that they offer to the public at no charge (state funding).

This is sort of what we're looking to do. For example: They would like to list, say, 10 articles, available in both English & Spanish, that are available. They want to give the customer the ability to specify the quantity and language. So far, I know how this can be accomplished. The question I have is that they would like the customer to be able to add these items to the shopping cart, but not have a $ value assigned, or have the value be $0.00. They want to collect the customers info (Name, mailing address, etc) BUT not have to input any credit card info. They would just like to receive the request. They do offer items that are not free and hold various conferences at all cost $, which the cart is perfect for.

I hope I am asking this question correctly. Basically, they want to add items that are free, skip the CC processing and just receive the publications order.

Many thanks.
Comments
  • brettbrett FoxyCart Team
    You know, we had discussions way back when about this need, and we built in the ability to have a cart at $0, so what you're describing is possible.

It _should_ replace the payment info with a "no payment necessary" message as well, so go ahead and give it a try to see if it's what you need.
  • bushybushy Member
    edited May 2008