The Foxy forums are on the move!

We're in the process of moving our forums over to a new system, and so these forums are now read-only.
If you have a question about your store in the meantime, please don't hesitate to reach out to us via email.

Free shipping for one state only

PasqualePasquale Member
in Help edited November 2010
I have updated to 7.0 so far so great! I am still learning the Javascript language so I don't full grok yet. I would like to use a coupon code but it leaves too much to chance as its directed to one certain state only.

I have a free shipping in California (only) hack that is no longer working. It is also directed towards a specific category (HOLIDAY_GIFTS).

How it should work:
When someone selects the product in category HOLIDAY_GIFTS and types California in the state address field - Shipping = 0

I have been searching and learning to wrap my head around what might be missing. If anyone has a chance to look this over for me I would greatly appreciate it, and I will learn a bit more.

var myCustomShipping = function() {

var product_category = FC_json.product_category;
var shipping_cost = FC.checkout.config.originalShipping;

var shipping_state = jQuery('#shipping_state_name').val();
var customer_state = jQuery('#customer_state_name').val();
var state_lookup = customer_state;

if (jQuery('#use_different_addresses').is(':checked'))
{
state_lookup = shipping_state;
}
if(product_category = HOLIDAY_GIFT)
{
if(state_lookup === 'California')
{
// Then free shipping to California
shipping_cost = 0;
}
FC.checkout.config.orderFlatRateShipping = shipping_cost;
}

jQuery(document).ready(function() {
FC.checkout.config.originalShipping = FC.checkout.config.orderShipping;
FC.checkout.overload('updatePriceDisplay', 'myCustomShipping', null);
FC.checkout.updateShipping(-1);
});
Comments
  • lukeluke FoxyCart Team
    edited November 2010
    Hey Pasquale. It looks like you're really close. There are a couple things you have to fix though: