Customize checkout template

RolfRolf Member
in Help edited January 2015
I want to customize the checkout template and first want to try the supplied template and alter it via twig and use/block commands instead of copying/altering the whole template.

I'm looking at the template here: https://github.com/FoxyCart/2.0-templates/blob/master/checkout.inc.twig

I'm not entirely sure how to display the main checkout structure and then for example overwrite the current sidebar block.

I understand the blocks documentation, but the block_a and block_b examples don't include a parent/wrapper like checkout has.
Or should I extend the checkout block and then overwrite the sidebar block and then output the complete block?

PS > I'm a twig noob btw, so bare with me. I'm still going through the docs at sensio...

TIA
Comments
  • fc_adamfc_adam FoxyCart Team
    @Rolf,

Sure thing - so the best way to approach this with 2.0 is to collapse all the different blocks within the checkout block except the ones you want to edit. You mentioned you want to work with just the sidebar - you'd do that like this:

Within the checkout template - replace the {{ block('checkout') }} with the contents of this pastie: http://pastie.org/private/g3p1m0ssaabmgdg4u2ammw - which is simply the checkout include template you linked to above, but with everything but the sidebar collapsed.

If you're wanting to edit the section of the sidebar contained within "cart.inc.twig" though - you can achieve that without having to customise your checkout template directly. That template is actually the "cart include" template as found within your store's FoxyCart administration. You can edit that template, which will edit the cart that is displayed within Sidecart, and on the full page cart, checkout and receipt pages.

If you want to edit the cart just within the Checkout page, you can replace the Twig {% include 'cart.inc.twig' %} line with the contents of the cart include template, and edit it directly there.