The Foxy forums are on the move!

We're in the process of moving our forums over to a new system, and so these forums are now read-only.
If you have a question about your store in the meantime, please don't hesitate to reach out to us via email.

Is FoxyCart made to be inserted into a site or used as a stand alone shopping cart?

This is a sincere question.

Why do I ask?

Because I have been trying to insert FoxyCart as a shopping cart into an existing site's theme (if you will) and it has been and continues to be an incredibly frustrating and very complicated thing to do. I am getting there but let me tell you...it is a time consuming thing and something that must be done one little bitty step at a time. One must constantly test to make sure the responsive nature of the FoxyCart cart is not messed up. One change at a time. The smallest changes will break things if one is not extremely careful.

Now part of my experience so far (using 2.0) may be that I am not an expert in CSS and integration. I say that not because I am entirely inexperienced in CSS and otherwise but rather as an acknowledgement that perhaps, just maybe, I am not seeing something that might make integrating FoxyCart much easier than I have experienced it to be.

The documentation does make it sound like it is perfectly doable and indeed perhaps even an easy thing to do though my experience has been entirely otherwise.

So by all means if anyone knows of a way to do this from a general point of view...please feel free to help me understand how to do this better.

In the absence of such input let me if I may make some observations that might point to why it is proving to be an incredibly complicated thing to integrate FoxyCart into an existing theme (so that I can get input on these observations as well).