Excluding certain state from being shipped to

Alright, I'm no programmer and I'm in need of some assistance. I have four different products that can no longer be shipped to Washington State. I know that there's a way to restrict shipping on all products to certain states with the code here (https://wiki.foxycart.com/snippets/shipping/restricting_countries_and_states_on_the_checkout), but is there any way that shipping won't be allowed to Washington for ONLY the four products? Something that would not allow a complete checkout if a customer has any of these products in their cart and selects WA as their shipping destination?

Full disclosure: We use the FoxyShop plugin for WP, and my support request through them pointed me to that code ^ and suggested maybe asking here if anyone can help out with writing the script.
Comments
  • fc_adamfc_adam FoxyCart Team
    @RyanWN,

We'd be happy to help. Could you confirm your store version for us please?
  • RyanWNRyanWN Member
    We're using FoxyShop 4.6.1 on WordPress 4.2.2
    @RyanWN,

Sorry - I meant your FoxyCart store version.
  • RyanWNRyanWN Member
    @fc_adam

Ah, sorry. FoxyCart 1.1

Side note: I see that there's a 2.0 now, is there any advantage to switching to this new version? I'm concerned with upgrading, however, because we upgraded to the latest WordPress version and it screwed a whole bunch of stuff up.
    edited June 2015
    @RyanWN,

So for FoxyCart version 1.1, something like this would work - assuming that the four products were all part of a category on their own with a code of "widgets". You can change that within the below code to match the category code of the products. If they don't all share the same category - if you can let me know what other identifying information could be used, I'd be happy to help you adjust the code.
    var restricted = false;
    for (var p = 0; p < fc_json.products.length; p++) {
    if (fc_json.products[p].category == "widgets") {
    restricted = true;
    }
    }